Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Which is the most powerfull green laser diode on the market?

Death Ray

I was a beginner before, but i made my first 2 lasers (5mw and 250 mw, using a DVD hp RW 16x). And both are working very well.
My next step is to make a green laser, and actually the most powerfull green laser diode that i found is the NDG7475 1.3W 520nm, but before start im woundering if there is something most powerfull about 520/530 nm, and why most of diode around 2/5 Watts are blue??? Mystery...:unsure:

Anyway, I would like to know if there is some better green laser diode, just like the nubm44/47 blue 7Watts.
thx

Unown (WILD)

Staff member
LPF Site Supporter
You don't know that yet?? Ah geez...

Visibility. Our eyes can see green nearly 100% due to having more green cones in our eyes. They don't need to be as powerful as red and blue to match brightness therefore the lesser needed power levels.
These are projector diodes and that is taken into account during their construction.

Just to throw in another comment for posterity. As unkown said, green has the highest visibility (lumens/W).

A reason that the highest power visible diodes come in blue is due to the physics and commercial applications. The commercial applications result in the necessary funding for research and development, and because the design differences for wavelengths is not trivial, the physics may also make high power blue diodes easier to produce. It's not much of a mystery for those who want to find out.

And as a final caviot, Infrared diodes come in higher powers than blue, as they are likely easier to produce like that and have many more commercial applications.

My biggest green is 1200++mw. I actually like playing with my 505nm green @ 60mw best because it is very bright