Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Total noob to lasers, need some help picking one.

zachlr

Hey everyone.  I'm a total noob to lasers and I need some help finding one.  Basically all I'm using it for is fun.  Pointing it up in the air, waiving it around, etc. (meaning I also want a visible beam if they exist). I also saw on youtube that you can pop balloons and light matches and such with some high powered ones, definitely want to try that.  

As for mW, I can afford about 130 dollars for one of these max. and I'd like to get the highest one for that money (so long as I'm not sacrificing other attributes).  I also want to keep it legal though, I read it is illegal for a regular joe to carry a laser above 25 mW (using the word "carry" loosely; I probably won't take it out in public often), is this true? I'm also under 18, not sure about any laws  with minors and lasers?  In addition, I read there is a 5 mW cap on out of U.S. imports, so it needs to be shipped from inside the U.S. if this is true.  I also saw beam divergence on a lot of the specs, what is this and will it make a difference for what I want to use my laser for?

As far as additional features, some kind of "dimming" feature would be nice, so I can pop a balloon and play with my cat using the same laser, but it is NOT a deciding factor, I can pick up a 1.00 dollar laser at a yardsale to play with her.  Also maybe some cool tips or adjustable focus/lens type of thing would be cool, but again, not a deciding factor.  Lastly, I've seen some lasers on youtube and pictures that (at least give the impression that they) can turn into a flat, wide beam, or a line when shined on the ground which would be nice.  It's not a heart breaker if I have to use a dot though.