Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Question about replacing Alkaline with Lithium Primary batteries

The title basically said it,

Let's say I had a 5mW green laser pen and it obviously uses AAA alkaline batteries. If I were to replace the batteries with AAA lithium energizer primary batteries, wouldn't the current from the lithium batteries be greater than alkaline batteries (as in would the extra current being produced in comparison to the alkaline ones cause the diode to be overrun and result in lower diode life)?

Or would the diode 'automatically' Not draw an extra amount of current?

Though I'm still rather new to lasers, I would love to use lithium, but I need answers first :)

Lithiums use an entierly(sp) different chemical reaction to make energy. I would still with the Titanium series. They are high amp/hour alkalines, i use them everyonce in a while and they are great.

It basically depends on the Voltage of your Lithium battery/s..
a single Alkaline is 1.5 Volts...
You will need to keep your total battery voltage the same...
the amperage is not relevant...

Jerry

The title basically said it,

Let's say I had a 5mW green laser pen and it obviously uses AAA alkaline batteries. If I were to replace the batteries with AAA lithium energizer primary batteries, wouldn't the current from the lithium batteries be greater than alkaline batteries (as in would the extra current being produced in comparison to the alkaline ones cause the diode to be overrun and result in lower diode life)?

Or would the diode 'automatically' Not draw an extra amount of current?

Though I'm still rather new to lasers, I would love to use lithium, but I need answers first :)