Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

One question about DPSS lasers

I'm a laser newbie, so I don't know how exactly DPSS lasers work but here's the question.

I have bought many green laser pens in the past and I have noticed something that called my attention: The time it takes to some green lasers to brighten up.

I've had green laser pens that would basically reach the maximum power as soon as you turned it on (almost instant), but there were others that would take a second or two to fully reach the maximum brightness and I was wondering if someone here could answer me why it happens or if it has something to do with laser duty cycles, their modules, diodes etc...

Kind of confused, please clarify.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

diachi

I'm a laser newbie, so I don't know how exactly DPSS lasers work but here's the question.

I have bought many green laser pens in the past and I have noticed something that called my attention: The time it takes to some green lasers to brighten up.

I've had green laser pens that would basically reach the maximum power as soon as you turned it on (almost instant), but there were others that would take a second or two to fully reach the maximum brightness and I was wondering if someone here could answer me why it happens or if it has something to do with laser duty cycles, their modules, diodes etc...

Kind of confused, please clarify.

Thanks in advance.

It's to do with how DPSS lasers work - They use a couple of crystals to convert 808nm pump light into some other frequency, in the case of green it is usually 808nm->1064nm->532nm.

See this diagram:

l54-101.gif