Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Newbie here. NI Multisim green laser diode help?

I just registered minutes ago since i really like lasers (despite of few knowledge) and so i want to learn laser stuffs more; and i hope im not in a wrong section.

So anyways, i have this project i'm working on about green laser diode. I copied a schematic here in Sam's laser. I found this pic. (glpdrv4.gif) on the site. then so i copied (without any knowledge on laser diode drivers and stuff) and put it on multimeter no reading. (I know it's stupid of me not to know these stuff.) Can you guys help me out tell me what's wrong with my copied schematics?(laserdiode.jpg) I have to put it on test and attach some oscilloscope to see the waves and stuff and also a wattmeter but unfortunately doesnt work.

And please teach me how to connect the driver to an oscilloscope thanks

Thanks for all the help

Attachments

• glpdrv4.gif
    glpdrv4.gif
    5.6 KB · Views: 8,078
  • laserdiode.jpg
    laserdiode.jpg
    226.4 KB · Views: 11,196

Ermm... so you're actually trying to drive an 808nm IR diode to pump the optics to get green out. We've got that straight, right?

Sam has some nice schematics, but for what we normally use lasers for here, there is rarely a need for so many parts. There are simpler LM317 based drivers otherwise available. Very simple.

But.. if you must use this other circuit. Make sure your multisim parts are correct. Is your zener at 1.25V? Is your LD set with a Vf at ~ 1.2V? Do you know what Hfe the source transistor is supposed to be?

In Multisim, you may have to set some initial conditions IE charge voltage on capacitors and state of the op amp output pins. Just some ideas. But really, I suggest googling the LPF thread about the LM317 driver. Its about 3-4 parts.