Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

New to lasers, questions about power

Hi all! I am pretty new to lasers. I am a graduate student in chemistry and I’ve been trying to use lasers to do some chemical reactions. I have had success with a 405 nm laser pointer which I borrowed. It was sold as 5 mW but also labeled max 100 mW, which confused me. I’d like to buy my own, but I’m wondering what power to go for to get something similar. The company stopped selling that particular laser.

Also, how accurate are those power ratings? I’m wondering if I should be measuring the laser’s output myself so that I have that information when I publish my results. Does the output of a laser pointer vary from day to day, or as the batteries get low?

I have ventured pretty far outside of my own and my advisor's realm of expertise with this project so it's a bit like the blind leading the blind. Thanks for any help you can provide.

Diode lasers are going to have a range of power that they will operate at. Below the minium range they may "Go LED", which means, they emit light, but will not lase. The maxium power is due to COD, "Catastrophic Optical Damage", or heat disapation, or both.

If you are doing research you should measure the power output with a meter. I'm not a research guy but I imagine that is a really important data point to have.

The laser's power can vary based on the driver circuit choosen, and yes, a battery driven laser could absolutely vary ouput power as the batteries drain.

Last edited:
Also, how accurate are those power ratings?