Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

New Power Supply for my Laser

I am kinda new to the whole laser thing so i might get a lot wrong.

A couple months back I was in china and I bought a 450nm laser. I have been looking to increase the power to meet the max power output on the label 20w. I had looked online quite a bit and havent found much. The box has a label "YX-B008" on it.

Can i trust the label on the laser? it claims 20w max output, but that seems like a lot of power for a diode.

Is there a way to reliably test for the max voltage and amperage without messing up the diode?

Thanks for any help :)

Encap

I am kinda new to the whole laser thing so i might get a lot wrong.

A couple months back I was in china and I bought a 450nm laser. I have been looking to increase the power to meet the max power output on the label 20w. I had looked online quite a bit and havent found much. The box has a label "YX-B008" on it.

Can i trust the label on the laser? it claims 20w max output, but that seems like a lot of power for a diode.

Is there a way to reliably test for the max voltage and amperage without messing up the diode?

Thanks for any help :)

So are you just trolling--the nickname screams troll?

Assuming you are not a troll :

That laser is what it is --- google "YX-B008"

There is no such thing as a 20W 450nm hand held laser and no other power source will increase the output.

Your lucky if is actually 1W output.

Last edited:
Is there any way that i can test the maximum voltage and amperage of a laser diode without destroying it?

Encap

Is there any way that i can test the maximum voltage and amperage of a laser diode without destroying it?

Why? What do you want to know?