Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Laser pointer Power Reduction

razerizlazer

Hello everyone! I am new to the world of lasers and I am currently working on an academic project that involves the use of 808nm lasers. Since I have limited time and resources, I decided to purchase two 808nm 500mW lasers. The laser is similar to the Jetlaser PL-E 808nm Infrared Lasers. jetlasers.org/pl-e-pro/20-pl-e-pro-808nm-infrared-lasers.html

instead of building my own laser from scratch.

However, for some of my experiments, I need to use a lower power output. I am wondering if there's a way to reduce the power output without having to dismantle the laser equipment. According to the specs, the laser can be operated with a 5V AC adapter, but the amp is not mentioned. Is it possible to reduce the power output to 100mW, 200mW, or similar levels using an external voltage regulator or any other device?

Also, I am curious about the "Beam quality M²". Can anyone please explain what it means and how I can find out the beam quality of my laser?

I would appreciate any help and advice on these matters. Thank you.

your laser will have driver board inside..

they used to have potentiometer, or shunt resistor..

measure voltage across shunt resistor divide it by resistor value and you get current going to the diode..

if you need to lover output of the diode replace the resistor with required value which is obviously higher ohm resistor..
with potentiometer it is obvious..

you need to be good at soldering obviously as those parts are small and modifiations need some skill..

razerizlazer

your laser will have driver board inside..

they used to have potentiometer, or shunt resistor..

measure voltage across shunt resistor divide it by resistor value and you get current going to the diode..