Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Laser cutter / engraver

SMIDSY

yngndrw said:
Hi,

Okay I'm not new to electronics, however I am new to lasers.

I appreciate that my questions have probably been asked many times before, but there's so much information out there that it can take a life time to read through. I have tried my best at researching but sometimes it's best just to ask.

I am wanting to build a 2 axis CNC laser cutter and engraver. I will be engraving plastic and I will be cutting upto aprox 1cm of neoprene, aka rubber foam.

I have read that a CD writer's laser can engrave plastic and I assume it will be able to cut through neoprene.
I have been looking at getting the following drive to source the laser diode: Pioneer 112D (Was going to put a link to it but it wouldn't let me.)

I would like some advice on my project:
1) Would this laser be able to do the task ?
2) What kind of power do these lasers output ?
3) What kind of safety glasses / screen (I.e. Sheet that I can put up around the CNC so that people outside of the screen don't have to ware anything.) can be used ? (Links to UK suppliers would be REALLY helpful.)
4) What can I use for the optics ? I'll presume that I can't just use the diode on it's own, or can I ? Can optics be borrowed from the drive ?
5) I've heard about "wire cutters" being used to remove the laser diodes from CD drives. What are these ?
6) How much focal control is needed ? Do I need a third axis or not ? Can I just adjust the laser power instead ?
7) What can I use as a table that won't be cut / damaged by the laser when cutting neoprene ?
8) What current should I be using for the laser from the drive mentioned above, for each task ?
9) Anything else that I need to know ?

Thank you for any help,
-Andrew.