Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

I'd like to make my first DIY laser and I need some clerification.

Edit: I got the shipments I ordered, I soldered the wires on, tested the driver, set the current, and connected the diode to it and... I wired the diode backwards... (that was stupid) so I had the wrong color wires on and probably killed it with reverse current -_- It didn't work when I fixed it, didn't even light up like an LED or put out any invisible light. So much for that then, I'll have to buy another diode now unless this one miraculously works.

Hello, I'm a total newb to lasers really, and I've had little experience if at all with working with electronics that didn't involve eventual destruction. I've been in the mood to build a laser for a long time now and I've checked around to see many different projects and tutorials, a lot of which can be confusing.

So starting off I plan on using this diode already mounted...
405nm PHR-803T Blu Ray Diode in Aixiz Laser Module Housing [PHR-803T in Aixiz module] - $19.83 : High Tech DealZ, Simplifying the LASER Hobby!

The fork in my plan is with the drivers, I want to use either AA or AAA batteries with my laser which is where I get confused.

Option 1...
Micro-Drive V3 adjustable driver (assembled) - $13.00 : rkcstr.com, Micro-Drive and laser diode electronics

Option 2...
405nm blu-ray diode driver£*>405nm blue-violet laser£*>Laser&lighting products£*>www.0-like.com

The first recommends that I use 9v, so I'm not sure if my battery choice is feasible, yet with option 2 some people don't like O-like. If there is another driver that is great for this build tips would be great. I'll pretty much set the current with a volt meter with help, unless there is an option to have it pre-set (100mW.)