Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Help with laser driver with LT317AT

Hi Everybody,
This is my first time to post anything on here.
I need help (schematic) to make a laser driver with a LT317AT.
I need it for powering a laser diode I took out of a DVD/CD ROM drive (I know its not going to burn anything, that's ok) It is out of a model XJ-HD166S drive (I don't see any manufacturer but I found it online when I googled that)
I would like to be able to run it off of 4.5v.(If that's possible)
Please don't tell me to go google it, I have done that and all the schematics I find use the LM317 and I am not sure what changes to make for the LT317AT to fit in.
Also any help on the pinout of the diode would be appreciated, it is a closed can type with four leads at the bottom three of which are insulated from the can by the little black rings. It was the only diode on the sled so I assume it is a combo IR/Red diode, I would want to use the red part (unless ofcourse hooking both up would raise the power output and enable it to burn, any thoughts on that guys?)
Thank you all, any help is appreciated.

Last edited:

Re: Help with laser driver with LT317A

First of all, you will need goggles before you do start with the laser.

I would like to be able to run it off of 4.5v.(If that's possible)
I will not run it at 4.5v but at around 2.2v to 3v with a current of around 50mA. 4.5v will definitely fry your diode.

any help on the pinout of the diode would be appreciated, it is a closed can type with four leads at the bottom three of which are insulated from the can by the little black rings.
This should be the pins that you need
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ftzmj9itzru92rx/4 pin.jpg?dl=0

Last edited: