Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Hello from the Hill Country

ChromeCaviar

Hello! I'm a hobbyist from the Hill Country of Texas. I am interested in RC planes, photography, collecting mineral crystals, flashlights, and lasers!

My interest in lasers started with Star Wars, I loved the movies growing up. I used to drool over the Wicked Lasers website, thinking about which color would look the best on a foggy night. As I got older, I became more interested in light, optics and imaging. I started buying mineral crystal specimens as subject matter for macro photographs, and began to really enjoy collecting crystals. I especially love pronounced geometric features. I think it's amazing how the macroscopic geometry of crystals hints at their microscopic molecular structure. Lasers are of course the coolest application of synthetic crystals, and can be shined thru natural crystals for a great visual effect, so it's natural that I am interested in lasers.

My goal in the laser hobby is to collect lots of wavelengths with a low power output, so I can appreciate all those wonderful wavelengths. And maybe get one high power unit, to feel like a Jedi on a foggy night.

I just started my collection with a 30mw 505nm, and I was surprised by how bright it is at "only" 30mw. I was also surprised by the color, I expected it to be closer to cyan, but it is 100% green to my eyes. It's a deep traffic-light green, very pleasant and relaxing. I'm already thinking about getting a 561nm pointer next, to see the opposite side of the green spectrum.
PXL_20240221_180311557~2.jpg
Hoping to learn lots more about lasers!

Ears and Eggs

Staff member
LPF Site Supporter