Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Greetings, I'm new

Mr. Delirium

Thanks for reading this, I thought I'd like to introduce myself as I have been a hobbyist electronics guy for a while and thought I'd step into the world of lasers. The name's Ian, and I'm excited to get to know some of you and maybe build some cool laser projects in the meantime ;). You guys seem like a cool crowd with some real expertise in the field.

The project I'm working on is a relatively simple 20mw green laser pen so I've been reading a bunch of green laser posts lately. I have one question I couldn't find the answer to when using the search bar: Is a laser module just a laser diode with a laser driver and some cooling?
You guys have probably answered this one before so sorry in advance 😅

Ears and Eggs

Staff member
LPF Site Supporter
Hi and Welcome to the forums! :cool:

It does depend on the what type of laser module. Some direct diode lasers are just a driver, housing that doubles as a heatsink and a lens. Others such as DPSS modules use a more complex process where a higher powered infrared diode is shone through several crystals and lense and this changes the wavelength of light from infrared to the desired wavelength, usually a visible one. If yours is a green laser it could be either, usually if the wavelength is 532nm then it is DPSS, if it's 520, 515, 525, it'll be direct diode.

Mr. Delirium

Hi, thanks for your help! The wavelength of my diode is 520nm so it's direct, I don't think I'm going to tackle a DPSS laser yet 😅

Ears and Eggs

Staff member
LPF Site Supporter
Heh, I've been in the hobby for 15+ years and still haven't ever tried to mess around with the guts of a DPSS. :LOL: Way too many small parts that have to be very precisely aligned.

dpss1asm.gif

Mr. Delirium