Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Does a cooled laser run longer?

MojoLA

You don't have to pay good, the wheel and motor was like $30 on eBay! I assume you have a laser :)

I'll include some links when i do a proper post on Thursday. But do a search on ebay for laser lumia, if you see the one in my video (1/3rd rpm motor, it was the only one like that for sale) then just get it. When I bought mine a few weeks ago he had 5 for sale, maybe he still has one!

I'm an electronics newb, the wheel has two bare wires...how would I power it with the 100+ volts?

For what your doing, I think you'd do much better with a low powered labby than with a pointer. You'd have much longer run times without heat concerns that way. Or having to worry about batteries.

MojoLA

Qume: I agree completely! I came to that same realization earlier in the week... so now I am looking for exactly that - desktop, "plug in" lasers under 50mw.

I actually think 15mw green is exactly right, and i'm looking for opinions on what power red and violet would visually match the green (I'm guessing 35-50mw).

One of the probems I've been having is knowing what to search for! If I look for "lab laser" I get super high end stuff, if I look for "laser diode" I get a lot of info about the actual laser diode itself.... so what would a simple, 15mw green "desk top" laser that you plug into the wall that has a 100% duty cycle be called??

I'd suggest building one. You already have the diode you want in the laser pointer. Now you just need to extract it, build a simple power supply, get or make an appropriate heat sink, build yourself a cool housing to put it all in. Add a sweet switch for aesthetic purposes :D and you have exactly what you want.