Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

New To Lasers (Can't Wait To Make A DEW)

JustMichael_1138

So, I'm new to lasers. I get the idea behind them, and understand the most basic of concepts, but the technicalities and components are, so far, above my head. However, I've watched more than a few StyroPyro videos (especially his laser cannon ones before YouTube got paranoid) and can't believe they sell half the shtako they do on eBay (blue laser diode arrays, anyone...?).

Figured I'd might as well join a forum and get some practical information before attempting to create my own, duplicating StyroPyro's 700 watt laser microwave oven (that used a liquid-cooled array of 9 blue laser diode arrays). Yes, I'm aware the microwaves have the highest kill count of any home appliance because noobs are like, Watch this! and then touch the transformer, and are transformed into a pair of smoking shoes. I'm not a complete idiot when it comes to electricity, and won't be touching any transformers anytime soon.

My first thought upon watching that video, naturally, was, "How do I weaponize it?" I'm not sure how much advice once can legally receive, but from what I've seen, the only illegalities is in interfering with other devices with EM or aiming them at planes/trains/automobiles. But firearms are passé and I want my plasma rifle in the 1,000 watt range...for home defense...

Now, before anyone panics, I don't actually have any lasers yet. My only other experience with them is using them for laser engraving on a Trotec, but those are near IR red lasers.

Couple of questions I will be pursuing here: