Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Newbie trying to get a laser diode working

JoyBike

Hi, I'm just getting into lasers and recently purchased a laser diode to make a laser to engrave wood with. It was only after I purchased it that I realized that getting it running would be a lot more complex than just hooking the diode up to the specified voltage and amperage. I've done a lot of research but still can't quite grasp what I need so I'm hoping you guys will be able to help me out. The specifications for my diode are as follows,
Features:
Wavelength: 850nm (±5nm)
Output power: 2.3W
Threshold current: 0.2A
Forward current: 2.5-3.6A
Forward voltage: 1.7V-2.2V
I saw a post that said you can just use an amc7135 to create a simple cheap constant current driver. But that was for a dvd burning laser and mine is a bit more powerful. As far as I know, the amparage of the amc7135 is 350mah. I was wondering if I could just wire 9 amc7135s in series for the 3 amps I plan to put in. And then as for power, I'm trying to make it handheld to be easier to engrave, and I'm struggling to find the best way to supply my diode and driver with 2v 3a.
If you guys have any tips for my design or better ideas I'd be glad to hear as you are all definitely more experienced than I am. Thanks in advance!

You NEED laser safety goggles to attenuate the wavelength you will be working with.
Be very careful with NIR lasers, you can blind yourself before you know what has happened.

JoyBike

You NEED laser safety goggles to attenuate the wavelength you will be working with.
Be very careful with NIR lasers, you can blind yourself before you know what has happened.