Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Newbie looking for advice.

xupz

Hey everyone, I could really use a tap into some experience here on the forum.

I'm currently an EE student working on a senior design team. We're going to build a digital laser projector, full RGB. Everything is being done from scratch except the lasers and optics. We currently have a $1500 budget for the lasers themselves.

The problem has been sourcing some lab style lasers capable of analog modulation, 0-5V, but I'm willing to use any laser module that will allow analog modulation. The current selections are:

Green 80mW 532nm $170.00
CNI 30K 532nm 80mw Green Laser Diode W/ Power Supply -

Red 100mW 635nm $317.00
CNI 30K 100mw 635nm Red Laser Diode W/ Power Supply -

Blue 80mW 473nm $668.00
CNI 30K 473nm 80mw Blue Laser Diode W/ FDA Power Supply -

Dichroic Filter Kit $150.00
https://www.ctlasers.com/purchases/dichroic-filter-p-54.html

According to a Matlab program I found on the forum, Chroma (excellent job btw), this selection would give me a solid white laser beam combination at these powers and any number of lower power combinations:

473 80mW
635 87mW
532 50mW

I was hoping some on the forum could offer some advice on the selections made and/or possibly recommend a US source with comparable prices for lasers. From the research we've done so far it appears CNI lasers seem to be best bang for the buck so that's why I selected the ones from that online store. I am however concerned with the time to order and possible customs issues, we only have approximately 3 1/2 months to work on the system.

We are not interested in following ILDA format, both software and hardware will be designed using our own format.

Any advice/help/recommendations is much appreciated.