Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Laser scanner help

Hello everyone,

I will start off by saying I am a software engineer, and do not have much experience with electronics or embedded software. I did manage to get a working 405nm build in a flashlight host exclusively thanks to the great people of the laserpointerforums community. It worked for a while, then I accidentally left the clicky cap on for a few hours (I thought it was off) which killed it....

I wanted to try my hand at working with laser scanners, more specifically through the ILDA port using custom software I will write.

I am not sure I have a full understanding of all the parts required though.

Galvo System
20KPPS Hightspeed Galvo Scanning System MAX35KPPS Including Show Card | eBay
Laser Module
150mW 532nm Green Laser Module with Heatsink | eBay
DAC
????????

Do I need any other parts to make this work?

The link to the galvo system I posted claims to have a showcard, is this the DAC? Can I modify the card to connect through USB to my computer? I saw some existing USB DAC products but they were unbelievably expensive, can someone tell me why? I also saw that a popular method was to hack a usb soundcard to perform as the DAC but this method seems to be difficult to maintain and prone to errors. I don't want to pay an arm and a leg for a device that simply converts my digital signal to a voltage. Am I missing something here, or is that technology normally expensive?

Assuming I could get it all connected together I should then be able to write a driver for the usb DAC, as well as a programming interface which uses the driver.

I am pretty sure some of my understanding is incorrect for certain things, please correct me where I am wrong.

Thanks a lot!