Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

I'm a not-so-new member finally introducing myself after more than a decade.

I'm a computer geek and software engineering nerd from Utah. My username online has always been andrewProgrammer (since at least 2007), but you can call me Andrew for short. I came up with that name when I was young and first getting serious into writing software, mostly Flash games at the time.

I've been drooling over lasers since 2003, so I guess that means they've been my thing for 20 years... wow. I had a cheap 1mW red pointer for a while that I bought for $5 with my allowance. And then when the Wicked Lasers Sonar came out I drooled over that, fantasizing about buying one, but of course never had that kind of money. I lurked the forum since 2009-ish but only to drool over what other people had.

2010 rolls around and the Wicked Lasers Arctic shows up... $199 for 1W of BLUE - unbelievable. I needed one, I had to have one, I even had some money to buy it from mowing lawns. But the internet does its thing and orders are instantly two years out. So I instead bought a 400mW 808nm that year as my consolation prize. I finally join the forum in 2011 and learn just how dumb an 808nm laser is; I'm lucky to still have both eyes especially at that kind of power. Then I got a real job that year writing business software full time and I bought a 250mW 650nm, a 100mW 532nm, and even an Arctic copycat 1W 445nm.