Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Help modding cheap keychain laser pointer into a 1W monster

Status
Not open for further replies.

Xpolygon74

Hello so i recently got into the hobby of buying and building lasers and im relatively new to electronics but i know the basics, my current project involves moddifing a cheap 5mw keychain laser pointed into atleast a 800mw Class 4 red laser, now ive done simple dvd burner diode mods but i never done anything like this above 200mw so i decided to come here and get some assistance from you guys, some advice on the matter would be appreciated and could someone please provide me with a circuit diagram that best suits my project? Im thinking about using AMC7135's for this build along with filter capacitors, but how many would be required to operate a laser of this power without any issues? And would resistors be neccesary for this build? Thanks!

You can do it but your going to have a couple issues.
1. Biggest issue is going to be heat both on the diode and the driver on that small of a host with large output. If you limit/watch the duty cycle you can probably do it.
2. Battery life, with a small host, you are limited to a small battery (quality 10440).

I think with a 3 amc7135s on the driver you are really pushing the max on the Mitsubishi diode (1050ma). You can buy a cheap LED DRIVER already made with 3 on it, that should fit in the .5" tube you will need for the 10440 and the aixiz module. (https://www.fasttech.com/products/0/10001751/1127406-3v-5v-3-amc7135-led-flashlight-driver-circuit)
MAY be able to trim sides of this to fit.

I know my 200mw can get warm pretty quick.

Xpolygon74