Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Focusing a laser to a very small dot

secondLaser

Hi all, I am new to lasers and optics in general.

I am currently working on a project and I need to focus a laser to a very small dot(around .1mm, smaller is better). the focal length should be around 100 mm(min) to 300mm (max).

I am willing to spend around 50 - 200 bucks.

Also, I wonder what sensors are commonly used in detecting lasers.

Thanks
:))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

Unown (WILD)

Staff member
LPF Site Supporter
What project is this going to be?

CurtisOliver

LPF Site Supporter
Use any single mode laser and focus it. You’ll get smaller than 0.1mm no problem. I use a 10600nm CO2 with a 50.8mm FL lens at work and we can achieve <0.125mm. Visible lasers have much smaller wavelengths therefore will have much smaller focal spots.

Unown (WILD)

Staff member
LPF Site Supporter
This exact question was asked before by another member. I'm trying to search for it because this might be a returning banned member but I can't find it

Last edited:

secondLaser

This exact question was asked before by another member. I'm trying to search for it because this might be a returning banned member but I can't find it
oh no. I am not, I joined the form today :). This is related to my school project

Unown (WILD)

Staff member
LPF Site Supporter
You said for school. I assumed it was for high school or less. What class in college?

secondLaser

Use any single mode laser and focus it. You’ll get smaller than 0.1mm no problem. I use a 10600nm CO2 with a 50.8mm FL lens at work and we can achieve <0.125mm. Visible lasers have much smaller wavelengths therefore will have much smaller focal spots.