Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Did research, but I need help with details

ok, so i am new to this hobby, and this site, and i am so glad i found this site. I have already learned soooo much about lasers and i think this community has definitely saved my eyes, and my diodes. But now im finally at the point where i really want to get my first laser built, and in spite of hours of research, i need just a little bit of help with details. I have two phr-803t diodes, and plan on using the aixiz module to contain them, i have a wide variety of potential power supplies, so i can adjust my design to what you think should work best, but i really need help with the driver. i would like to run this laser at 115-120 mA. i have a 12v 1000 mA output ac/dc wall wart, and i would like to power the laser using that, i want to build an lm317 circuit as a driver, (i think, but correct me if i'm wrong) and i have all the hardware from an old hp computer that i just took apart to work with, i also have plenty of electrical tools and solder, so i just need to know how EXACTLY to build a driver, and if i can build it from the computer parts, what exactly should i look for from it???? any help is appreciated, i just really want to get this built now.

Oh, and in case I didn't get my appreciation across, thank you soooo much LPF :bowdown:

I think this will help alot, so thank you a lot, I had already been to that page, but reviewing it now, it makes a lot more sense. Any idea as to whether or not I can find all the parts for this driver from a computer?
Thanks again by the way!

I think this will help alot, so thank you a lot, I had already been to that page, but reviewing it now, it makes a lot more sense. Any idea as to whether or not I can find all the parts for this driver from a computer?