Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

zero aperature....airy disk?

ZipZap

I have a project, and I am waiting for my parts to come in. My intention is to use a beam expander to take a 405nm beam to appx 12mm diameter, then pass it through a zero aperture iris. Beam power is less important to my particular project than maintaining and controlling beam diameter along the entire beam.

I am no optics ninja, in fact other than teasing cats and sighting my gun, Im a complete noob. So I just discovered this Airy Disk thing, I am curious to know 1st does a zero aperture iris cause this same distortion pattern? If so, what is necessary to eliminate it? If not, just how fine a beam do you think is possible given the arrangement described?

I dont mind you dumbing it down if necessary...Ill even read a bunch of links if you feel it necessary for me to understand.

Thanks in advance
Zip

Why is the expansion necessary?

"passing it through a zero aperture" is contradictory, since an aperture of zero blocks all light.

All you should need is a pointer, and some sort of dark material with a tiny, tiny hole in it.

From what I was able to gather, the zero aperture iris blocks all light (as Cyparagon correctly mentioned). The Airy Disk is a pattern produced by even the most tight focus point achievable by any means. There are ways to minimize it, but you can't completely eliminate it.

The pinhole approach may be as good as any other to achieve a small point, although most of the light may be wasted. A good aspherical lens may be the easiest solution. At least you'll get to use all the light. I presume this is why you want the beam expanded? You shouldn't need it to achieve focus though, but I'm also curious about the beam expander use, since it seems to be often used in optics setups. Anyone?