Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Wiring help for new laser

Hello people at LPF, my name is (obviously) Mike. I'm new at building lasers (however not at gawking at their awesomeness), and I need some help.

I've been trolling anonymously for a few days looking for an answer with the infamous search button, but it seems I've been unable to locate a clear-cut answer.

I've got my 405nm diode. (More like this one here)

My driver...here (Although I'm seriously thinking this will have to be changed. I don't believe this to be the correct one, but I have it anyways. If someone could chime in on a better recommendation, that'd be awesome.)

I'm not sure exactly how to wire it so that I can wire a momentary on/off button to it. I'll not be using this in a host for a while, if at all, so I'm thinking I'd cut the case pin down as far as I can go, and wire the diode's + and - to the corresponding areas on the driver board. Then wire the driver to the on/off switch using the B+ and B- to the switch's + and - side.

Just like everyone else, I don't really wanna toast a diode due to an electrical goof up (and after my experiences in car stereos, I can tell you I've been known to mess some electrical stuff up lol), so any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

Thanks anyone,

Mike W.

That Driver is not going to work for your 405nm Laser.
That driver is set to output 1.1 Amps of current and will
surely blow your LD.

The 405nm LD you linked to has a suggested current
of <400mA.

You could build your own linear DDL driver for only a few $$...
You can read up on the DDL Linear Current Driver here...

http://laserpointerforums.com/f42/diy-homemade-laser-diode-driver-26339.html

Jerry

Last edited: