Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Wide beem green lasers for daylighet use help!

I have bought two laser pointers in the past and both have too thin/narrow
a beam for my purpose. I am a biologist and we use these for highlighting tree
positions for animal/bird watching.

I need 10mw power, colour green, that can be seen in daylight, and has a good 'relatively wide' beam. Both lasers I have bought have a much smaller beam than colleagues have purchased.

One site store recommend me a "Green Long Distance Laser Designator", i have no idea whether it is according to my requirment. Can you guys please advise? Or which laser you would recommend?
10mw, green, wide beam for visible daylight use...
:thanks:

Tony

anselm

I need 10mw power, colour green, that can be seen in daylight, and has a good 'relatively wide' beam.
What you want is impossible. The beam of 10mw of green is very hard to see in daylight, only maybe
if you hold the pointer close to your face and look right down the beam.
Also, the wider the beam, the less bright it is for any given power.
How wide (diameter in mm) does the beam have to be?
How far are those trees you're pointing?
Are we talking bright-and-sunny or cloudy daylight?
Do you need to see the beam at all (because you ask for a wide beam)
or do you really only need to see the dot?

Last edited:
What you want is impossible. The beam of 10mw of green is very hard to see in daylight, only maybe
if you hold the pointer close to your face and look right down the beam.
Also, the wider the beam, the less bright it is for any given power.
How wide (diameter in mm) does the beam have to be?
How far are those trees you're pointing?
Are we talking bright-and-sunny or cloudy daylight?
Do you need to see the beam at all (because you ask for a wide beam)