Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

wide beam laser

I am totally new to the world of lasers and would love some guidance on a new project of mine. I am trying to source a light/laser suitable for projecting a sharp silhouette onto a backdrop. I've tried using a stencil held over a normal light bulb, but I can't get a sharp image on the backdrop. My limited knowledge of lasers is that the light travels in a straight line which I hope will make a sharper projected image. I'm also guessing that a normal laser pointer would have too small a beam. So, is there such a thing ad a commercially available wide beam visable laser, or does anyone have a better idea of how to project a silhouette crisply on a wall. Any help would be really appreciated.

Things

Easy, just get any random laser and defocus it. All lasers have a lens on the front to focus the beam, by twisting it you can defocus the laser. Doing it this way also means that you can use a much smaller stencil, as the diverging laser beam acts kind of like a microscope.

If you want to do this with light bulbs, you'll probably need to use an arc lamp or something similar with a smaller point light source.

Last edited:

DrSid