Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Why I don't have an Argon Ion laser this month...

I want one... really, I do. In fact, there were a couple of great multilines on LPF this past month that I fully intended to narrow to a purchase. I love that soothing 488nm beam and there is just something special about having a laser that needs me to snuggle it every month... not that it would have to ask. Kidding aside, the money tree isn't as prolific as I'd like and I had to make some choices. The argon will wait, since I've recently become infatuated with photographing the stars. I'm not really good at it yet, but I'm learning... and each time I go out, I get a little better. I thought I'd throw up a couple of my first attempts and see what y'all thought... be gentle.

M51, The Whirlpool Galaxy

M101, The Pinwheel Galaxy

M65 and the Leo Triplet

M81 and M82, Bode's Galaxy and the Cigar Galaxy

Have a great week, y'all!

/c

Wow, awesome shots! I've always loved astronomical photography, but never gave it a try due to the extreme cost of entry. Similarly I love photography but again, no real camera, heh.

When you do feel like taking the plunge it'll be worth your time to give my inbox a ping, I am still (lazily) trying to sell my 70mW 8Line ArIon as a complete plug and play package, and I am not asking very much at all for it.

IsaacT

Care to post your setup? I have been wanting to try this but I don't own a telescope or anything and I wonder how expensive it is to start out doing that.

Those pics are fantastic from an amateur perspective. I love the second one. On the first the galaxy looks awesome but the stars seem a little pixelly IMO. Then again...how many light years away are those??? Yeah. That's awesome!

BowtieGuy

LPF Site Supporter