Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Where to start

tse dk

First of all... a big hello goes out from Denmark to you guys here. I've been visiting regularily lately so guess now was the time to join :)

I surely dont want to be the new user that asks all the silly questions. Nevertheless I do have some questions I'm having a hard time finding suitable answers for. Here goes..

I'm quite new at the laser game.. only just recently hit by the fascination. Now I'm at the point of starting my own collection - so far it consists of two 532 ebay pointers both advertised at 5mW but one quite a bit stronger than the other.

Now I feel its time to step up the game a bit and I've been looking around every site I could find. I like the Lazerer program alot and it got me thinking. In time I'd like my collection to consist of a handful of lasers in different wavelengths - probably from around 100mW and up cos I like them to be able to "do something" rather than just pointing a dot on the wall.

Its clear that If I want one highpower laser from their program prices suggest it to be one of the higher powered 445's. If I was to pick up just one laser in the 1 to 1.2W area is 445nm a good or bad choice?

I'm also not entirely sure how powerful 405's and 650's need to be to be clearly visible in the dark etc for star pointing. Are the 100mW's okay for this?
I know the 532 is.

So to summarize.. Im thinkin of building a personal collection with a 1-1.2W Blue laser and violet, green and red in the 100mW region. What are your thoughts? okay or does it sound like a bad idea?

Thanks for any of your input on this.

sinner

If you're already sure you want different wavelengths from 100mW upwards then why not.. Be sure to read all the stickies and get a basic idea on how important safety eye-wear is.