Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Where to find TEC modules for 473nm crystals?

viroy

I am planning on building my own 473nm module.  
I can get a hold of the crystals and an 808nm diode... but I dont know where to get a TEC module.
I was thinking of taking apart some green ones, but if I could find blanks, that would be better.
I have never built one of these before... so if anyone with experience could lend a hand, I would be very grateful.

Here is the crystal set:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=130270133913

I wrote him and I believe he said a 2w 808nm diode would produce >500mw 473nm.
Would this be all I need?... other than a module with collimator, an 808nm diode and a driver.
Where can I get a module?

Thanks in advance!

viroy said:
I wrote him and I believe he said a 2w 808nm diode would produce >500mw 473nm.
Thanks in advance!
Those are some efficient crystals! :eek: A 473nm crystal set with 25% effieciency? I don't think that's correct, most DPSS blues need a 2.5W diode to produce ~30mW.

LRMNmeyer said:
[quote author=viroy link=1227323137/0#0 date=1227323137]I wrote him and I believe he said a 2w 808nm diode would produce >500mw 473nm.
Thanks in advance!
Those are some efficient crystals! :eek: A 473nm crystal set with 25% effieciency? I don't think that's correct, most DPSS blues need a 2.5W diode to produce ~30mW.[/quote]

Thats crazy. :eek: Come on, your diying a >500mW blue. I really don't think its going to make THAT much. :p I believe blues could reach 5%
efficiency so 2500 divided by 100 then times 5 = 125mW's... Maybe they have gotten better...Or they haven't...LOL

--hydro15

viroy

ah I found his email:

Hi,
2W 808nm diode is recommended. 2W can make 473nm 130-150mw.
If you use 1W, 50mw 473nm will get.
Regards

diachi