Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

What IR laser is safe

I'm on a night vision site in the UK. And were entering into a discussion on IR lasers used when filming. I know all lasers can damage your eyes (is that correct).
But you see filming on the tv with IR is the light they use safe. I'm new to lasers so that's why I'm asking.

Cheers craggrat

The safest IR Laser is one that is turned OFF.

If you want to illuminate a scene... I would use an IR LED
source like they use with Night Vision Cameras like this one....

IR Infared 96 LEDs Illuminator Light for CCTV Camera | eBay

You could use a Laser but it needs to be greatly unfocused
(or perhaps have the Lens completely removed) since it would
only illuminate a very small area.

Focused IR from a Laser is also very dangerous because you
cant see where the beam is going with the naked Eye.. it is
basically invisible.

Jerry

I use de-focused 300mW I.R. laser Diodes for NV spots and High output I.R. LEDs and LED arrays for close area illumination. Both are safe, if you always have them pointing away from you. NOT so healthy for your subjects, especially if you hit them in the face. The de-focused lasers and LEDs are not likley to blind you, but they will give you I.R. burns, if you get stupid (feels like you have sand in your eyes), but that usually goes away in a day (human eyes are pretty amazing about recovering from most light injuries).
Bottom Line: Like Jerry said, "the safest IR laser is the one that is turned OFF!

^That is absurd. IR LEDs are harmless. You must be thinking of UV.