Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Voltage question...

ok so i got all my parts for my first blu ray, so i was thinking about modifying a dorcy jr to house 3 lithium photo batteries so i can use the rkcstr micro driver since it needs ~9v to function properly. however i found a 6V Lithium Photo Battery at radioshack and i wanted to know if i could just house that one and a 3v lithium photo battery to come up with the 9v. does anyone know if it can work like that??? :-? or is one of the batteries gonna explode or something??? :D :D

jayrob

I'm no expert on batteries, but I wouldn't think it would be a good idea to mix different batteries like that. I'm sure they would discharge unevenly at the very least, giving an uneven supply voltage to the driver...
Jay

well i that sucks! then do you know if there is any batteries that are ~4.5 instead of 3 or is there any way i can modify the driver to work with two of those 6v batteries?? i just dont want my host to be over a mile long! :-/

jayrob

Not familiar with that host, but if it will take 2 X 3.6 volt rechargeable batteries, then I believe this will be enough for the rkcstr driver with a blu-ray.

They charge to 4.2 volts ea. This will be 8.4 volts at full charge...
Jay

The dorcy junior tahes a single CR123 or RCR123... Really the only way to go is to use a flexdrive.......

Glaserfan said:
The dorcy junior tahes a single CR123 or RCR123... Really the only way to go is to use a flexdrive.......

i was thinking about cutting the flashlight in half and just adding a pipe to extend it and that way put more batteries in it :cool: