Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Violet/Blue laser skin damage?

itw3ak

Hi All,
been a while since I've visited LPF hope things are well for everyone.

I have a question and could not think of a better place to ask.

Related to skin exposure of a 405nm or 445nm laser, what if any visible damage has anyone experienced after intentional or accidental exposure to the beam?

I ask because I recently began to see the appearance of light spots on the backs of my hands. I have not got any official diagnosis from a dermatologist but I find it worth questioning if my intentional shining of the 405nm laser beams onto my hands to "feel the heat" might be related to these spots.

Granted this is a recent occurrence but I have been using these lasers for the last 3+ years infrequently. My best guess is that this skin lightening is vitiligo. A skin disorder that many claim was brought on after a severe sunburn. And of course a 405nm laser in 120mW and 400mW could certainly stand in for a artificial sunburn from UV exposure right?

Just wondering if these lasers could have played a part in this. If this is indeed possible I would absolutely push any of you using similar lasers NOT TO EXPOSE YOUR SKIN TO THE BEAMS!
I would love to avoid anyone else having to experience this :(

Couple of pix attached.
IMG_20130515_133208.jpg

IMG_20130515_133259.jpg

Interesting.
I think before you jump to lasers you should investigate other possible causes...
Like environmental factors and diet. And of course get it checked out by a medical professional if you are concerned about it.
We are not doctors, just internet characters... so don't trust us with your medical concerns.

That said...