Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Unfocusable 200mW 520nm kit build, need help or happy to pay for repair please

Serac

Hi and thank you for taking the time to read this and possibly try and help.

SUMMARY:
I am hoping to get help trouble shooting this as I have already tried everything I could think of. Also I am happy to pay someone to repair it if necessary but I do really want to understand / learn what the problem is and not just get it repaired. Basically in my opinion it seems to be out of focus and or not putting out enough power, very wide spread at 10 feet and the beam is barley visible in a dark room. I have tried focusing it fully in and out and flipping the orientation of the lens (in addition to other trouble shooting). This is my first build and my only laser greater then 5mW. I bought this for help star gazing and was hoping it would be a little visible in day light hence the goal of a ~200mW green laser.

PROBLEM:
-unable to focus, wide spread at 10 feet when lens screwed all the way in or out
-beam barley viable in a dark room
-performing way under power of ~200mW?

SPECS :
Diode: 520nm PLP520-B1 5.6mm 120mW green multimode
Driver: MicroBoost set at 450mA's
Lens: G2 lens
Power : ~ 200mW
Battery: AW 18650 Protected 3100 mAh Rechargeable Lithium
Host: Solar Force L2T

Pictures of Beam focused as tight as possible 10 feet from wall dark room:
IMG_4780.JPG

IMG_4784.JPG

MORE / LARGER PICTURES:
Please see additional / larger pictures pictures at:
https://sites.google.com/site/l2thost/

TROUBLE SHOOTING DONE:
-Lens screwed to the extreme in and out positions of the module, spring removed, EZ focus adaptor removed, both of two possible lens orientations tried