Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers



Two Melles Griot Tubes With Clipped Chords

ultimatekaiser

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 10, 2013
Messages
2,907
Points
113
I have Alden's on all of mine. Since you shouldn't solder on the tube, I have little clips on them so they can move from tube to tube easily. :)

Don't forget the bare tubes can shock you even if they don't start. Make sure you discharge them before touching them after applying power.
 



SKeeZ

Active member
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
467
Points
28
I have Alden's on all of mine. Since you shouldn't solder on the tube, I have little clips on them so they can move from tube to tube easily. :)

Don't forget the bare tubes can shock you even if they don't start. Make sure you discharge them before touching them after applying power.

I have the clips, no worries. i soldered the ballast directly to the clip so its very sturdy and close to the tube and i will solder the alden to the other clip and ballast :)

The shock is good for you. It puts hair on your schmeckle.

Lul
 
Last edited:

hakzaw1

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
10,689
Points
113
You may have gotten aldens cheaper from Sam's classifieds
if you hold your tubes near a plasma ball and they do not glow a little then they are DOA and expected considering no body would cut the Aldens for a good- working HeNe IMHO.
AND.. short those plugs before you touch- it will hurt--

at Sam's you can find the correct PS for that tube- I have one of those myself-
 

crazyspaz

New member
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
2,861
Points
0
The shock is good for you. It puts hair on your schmeckle.

^wat.




And anyway, hope that the tubes work! I passed up the opportunity for a 632.8 HeNe with power supply, all for 45$ the other week....wish I hadn't...oh well :(
 

SKeeZ

Active member
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
467
Points
28
Ok, so my PSU arrived today. and i am pretty anxious to get it working. there is one problem. It only is putting out 3V when powered, (Not 1800V) someone please help.
 

SKeeZ

Active member
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
467
Points
28
multimeter and the tube doesn't fire so, that is also an indication. i have measured 6KV on my meter before. TTL modulation is also off.
 
Last edited:

Speedy78

New member
Joined
Dec 17, 2012
Messages
2,081
Points
0
No idea. May be the supply. May be the tube. Does it click when it attempts to fire?
 

SKeeZ

Active member
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
467
Points
28
no, it doesn't. Supposedly, Meredith instruments test all of the supplys. I am not sure. gonna go check the FAQ.

EDIT: couldn't find anything on the FAQ
 
Last edited:

pschlosser

New member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
909
Points
0
Ok, so my PSU arrived today. and i am pretty anxious to get it working. there is one problem. It only is putting out 3V when powered, (Not 1800V) someone please help.

3V seriously? you measure with a DMM without an HV probe?

Something's not right. either your testing methods or the PSU. If it doesn't zap you, then maybe the PSU is not outputting 1800V. Are you sure you are got the input power correct?
 

SKeeZ

Active member
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
467
Points
28
If my testing methods arent right, it still dousnt zap me. I put both leads on my tounge, nothing. My input is dead on @ 12VDC @1.5A which calculates to be 18 Watts, dead on what the stcker says.
 

pschlosser

New member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
909
Points
0
Ok. Hmm. You said something about TTL modulation being off. My Coherent PSUs have a TTL input that I tie to the ground of the 12V input for an "always on" condition. How is yours hooked up? Or is it just floating? Take a look at that, next.
 

SKeeZ

Active member
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
467
Points
28
yellow to ground (black)-->TTL On. are you saying i should take TTL (yellow) to +12V(red)?
 
Last edited:




Top