Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Turn On LEDs using a laser - questions, help needed

speo

I landed on this forum while doing some research for my new DIY project. This is my first project using a laser, so I apologize if my questions are obvious to you. I have good soldering skills, I can assemble kits, but do not understand how they work.

I will be more than happy with a detailed answer for my question #1, but if you have ideas for #2, #3 and #4 I would appreciate your input.

What I want to build is a sniper training target:
#1 - a kind of target that will turn on (for few seconds) an LED every time it gets hit by a laser beam.
#2 - if that is too easy, we can make it an array of LED's and the LED that gets hit will stay on for few seconds.
#3 - if that is still not challenging enough lets add a display that will keep a score until resetting (add 10 points for hitting the center LED, add 9 points for hitting the adjacent LED's...)
#4 - a LED that controls a servo arm to move from zero position to extreme position when hit by a laser beam.

Here are few links for some commercial products, more advanced, expensive and not as much fun, as they are not DIY :)

LaserLyte ? Trainer Target Laser

LaserLyte ? Trainer Target Plinking Cans

LaserLyte ? Trainer Target Reaction Tyme

LaserLyte ? Trainer Training Tyme Kit

Two more questions (for now). What is inside these commercial products and how do they work? What lasers will work for these commercial targets. If I buy a target like the one in the links above, will it work with a cheap $5 laser diode?

Thank you for your help.

Last edited:

Re: Turn On LEDs using a laser - questions

You can use a photoelectric sensor to detect the laser, but they may not be large enough for your purposes.

cheese

speo