Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

The Miracle Cure For My Test Load Measurements!

It's no secret that I'm not an electrical engineer. At best, I am a professional tinkerer. Nobody wants to hear the autobiography.

So, I was having trouble getting good readings on a boost driver and I consulted every thread I could find. I've read hundreds of posts regarding how many diodes to select in your dummy load, Vf changes at high current, charts and graphs, you name it.

What I never came across (and was unable to articulate my dilema) was a comment post, or what have you, that dealt with MEASURING YOUR VOLTAGE across your load. Well, the light bulb FINALLY lit up!

I have Lazeerer or Angelos to thank for this epiphany, nay, satori!
I caught him on a bad day and he was in no mood to be questioned about the quality of his individually-tested drivers. And, who can blame him, considering noobs??

He saw I did my homework and was so very kind as to take his valuable time to make a 10 minute long video, answering my question about how to measure your voltage use on your test load! He is quite thoughtful!!

So, once I had that final piece of knowledge- How to test the voltage draws on the diode in my dummy load-I am now confident in my ability to accurately test and adjust any driver that comes my way! I am terribly excited about it.

So, as a big thanks to him, and in the hope that this helps so many like myself, I present you with the video he produced for me. (I hope he doesn't mind!)

Enjoy and share your knowledge!

Last edited:
Reactions: ped