Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers



So my ping hit the floor ... post your worst

trencheel303

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 10, 2013
Messages
1,414
Points
83
My ping got terribad fast. My connection always seems to do this around midnight; that's if it doesn't drop altogether.



I really want fibre.
 

ElectricPlasma

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
1,622
Points
113
My ping got terribad fast. My connection always seems to do this around midnight; that's if it doesn't drop altogether.



I really want fibre.
Fibre is almost overrated if you just do regular internet surfing, a simple low internet plan should work completely fine for web browsing. But, if you can't find the ping issue yourself I'd ask your ISP for some help, and if it really becomes and issue then just switch companies(if you can).

Edit: just noticed your youtube channel in your sig, if you put out videos often fibre might actually be worth it. But a lot of places have bad pricing for fibre, you should do a bit of research and see what you can find.
 
Last edited:

icecruncher

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
1,283
Points
63
Fibre is almost overrated if you just do regular internet surfing
I love my Fiber Gigabit.

Speedtest.net by Ookla - My Results

If you are wired for CAT6 and you have the systems and groundwork to support, I don't think you can beat a Gigabit Fiber network connections
I stream everything and even though most places won't get full bandwidth, it is well worth the money. I currently pay $5.00 less a month than I was paying for 30Mb/s
 
Last edited:

ElectricPlasma

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
1,622
Points
113
I love my Fiber Gigabit.

Speedtest.net by Ookla - My Results

If you are wired for CAT6 and you have the systems and groundwork to support, I don't think you can beat a Gigabit Fiber network connections
I stream everything and even though most places won't get full bandwidth, it is well worth the money. I currently pay $5.00 less a month than I was paying for 30Mb/s
:worthy:

5$ cheaper? Fibre here is pretty pricey last time I checked. Can't believe it's cheaper for you than standard, you've got quite the pot of luck there :p
 
Last edited:

trencheel303

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 10, 2013
Messages
1,414
Points
83
I had fibre before I moved house, and it was a godsend. Our town just recently got fibre, and at the same time ADSLs got upgraded from the usual 8m down and whatever it is up, 0.3m I think to 20+ down and 1 or 2 up. I moved into a house share and went back down to ADSL and it's noticeable, even for web browsing on a fast computer. My Macbook Air just feels strangled on our speeds.

I house share, but I will possibly end up taking out fibre and footing the bill for myself. The problem around here is the cables are ancient, although BT are replacing a fair bit of it I have been told there's still a lot of old aluminium (not even copper) cables from way back in the day.
 
Last edited:

Benm

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
8,115
Points
113
Old cables can be a nightmare, i have that problem here. ADSL is borderline unusable now, maximum speed is about 8 mbit and that still drops out completely. Luckily the coax tv cables are decent and i still get something like 100 mbit down, 15 mbit up (plan is for 150 mbit down, but wifi can be the bottleneck there, i've measured speeds over using a hard connection).

Currently it seems the backbone is having some problems though, at busy times (say 19:00 to 22:00) downstream sometimes bogs down quite badly - guess a lot of people are watching netflix and such.
 

astralist

Active member
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
502
Points
43
... meanwhile i'm sitting here using my laptop with 10k-15k ping (Indonesia) *crying out loud*
 

diachi

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
9,634
Points
113
... meanwhile i'm sitting here using my laptop with 10k-15k ping (Indonesia) *crying out loud*


10k as in 10k milliseconds? Or 10 seconds?

1 year of latency data for 8.8.8.8 (Google public DNS). 1 day average.




Site-to-Site VPN to work - office is about 1km from home as the crow flies, probably less. Latency in town is dreadful.

 

astralist

Active member
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
502
Points
43
Yea, it's 10k miliseconds = 10 seconds.

It's a usual things in here actually. I just recheck again, and now its averaged at ~50ms lol. Such a moody ping we got in here :D
 

Benm

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
8,115
Points
113
I think the standard ping command on windows times out after a second or so ;)

I know you can set the timeout higher, but i've never actually used that option. This must really be a last-mile problem though, i can ping servers in indonesia from holland with pings of 200-250 ms. Considering that's over 12000 km of sea cables per direction it's not too shabby at all!
 

diachi

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
9,634
Points
113
I think the standard ping command on windows times out after a second or so ;)

I know you can set the timeout higher, but i've never actually used that option. This must really be a last-mile problem though, i can ping servers in indonesia from holland with pings of 200-250 ms. Considering that's over 12000 km of sea cables per direction it's not too shabby at all!
Yeah, you can set that timeout - and much more! :)

Options:
-t Ping the specified host until stopped.
To see statistics and continue - type Control-Break;
To stop - type Control-C.
-a Resolve addresses to hostnames.
-n count Number of echo requests to send.
-l size Send buffer size.
-f Set Don't Fragment flag in packet (IPv4-only).
-i TTL Time To Live.
-v TOS Type Of Service (IPv4-only. This setting has been deprecated
and has no effect on the type of service field in the IP
Header).
-r count Record route for count hops (IPv4-only).
-s count Timestamp for count hops (IPv4-only).
-j host-list Loose source route along host-list (IPv4-only).
-k host-list Strict source route along host-list (IPv4-only).
-w timeout Timeout in milliseconds to wait for each reply.
-R Use routing header to test reverse route also (IPv6-only).
Per RFC 5095 the use of this routing header has been
deprecated. Some systems may drop echo requests if
this header is used.
-S srcaddr Source address to use.
-c compartment Routing compartment identifier.
-p Ping a Hyper-V Network Virtualization provider address.
-4 Force using IPv4.
-6 Force using IPv6.
 

Benm

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
8,115
Points
113
Sure you can, but it's interesting that some people actually need to increase the timeout value to get usable results.

Then again this is indonesia... where your mobile connection can be way faster than your landline both in ping and throughput. I love the country, but at times internet connections will drive you mad down there. Upside is that mobile networks keep rolling out at a fast pace, and with landlines lagging this far behind in many places using a mobile connection is preferable, as long as you don't use much data traffic.
 

astralist

Active member
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
502
Points
43
Then again this is indonesia... where your mobile connection can be way faster than your landline both in ping and throughput.
THAT'S IT!! i couldn't agree more! :crackup::crackup::crackup::crackup::crackup:

BTW forgot to tell, it was when i'm in a world of warcraft game when i observed >10s ping. :D The silly thing is, it is a private server in indonesia :crackup:
The usual/daily usage (for internet, etc) is about 50ms - 200ms.
 

Benm

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
8,115
Points
113
I've noticed that this is mostly the place in somewhat remote locations, though i guess certain parts of cities could suffer from it too. There have been numerous situations where the wifi in a hotel was strong but the connection barely useable, while 3g connection was fine.

If you use a lot of data this will not be a real solution, but for the occasional email, fb post or forum check prepaid telkomsel served me well. When in indonesia i usually just get a telkomsel sim with 3 gb of data for 100k or so - it's quite nice to have affordable data plans like that!
 




Top