Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

So i bought a laser in china

Hi there guys, first post, more of a general "looking for info" etc. post

So i was in china and i bought a laser with bright "danger" printed on it (its a red laser, claims 650nm +-10 nm WL) and reads "maximum output <100mW
Ive played with laser pointer toys before when i was a kid, but this thing is POWERFUL. I didn't realise what the hell it was until i started playing at night time and i realised (esp cause its a bit smoky here in shanghai) i could shine the thing all the way to the god damn sky

Literally there wasn't a building i could see far enough away that i couldn't shine it at almost, the smoke lighted the thing and it just seemed endless
As soon as that happened i started reading safety on it and now i treat it as if im holding a handgun and i pretty much have batteries out of it all the time

The main thing im trying to do is identify the laser. The warning sticker labels it as a class 3, and earlier when playing around with it, at point blank range it burns through a black bin liner (pretty thin) (even though the laser point is about 5mm, it only burns through the centre 1.5mm, it takes about 2-5 seconds to burn through), however it has never felt hot or anything like that when held on my skin (boy do i feel stupid for running this thing over bare skin and pointing it at myself and other people during the day)

Ive been looking at prices over the internet for 100mw lasers, and im seeing prices of hundreds of dollars, i bought this thing for the equivelant of 8 dollars!
Given the information i have a strong feeling the laser i have bought is no where near 100mw (but still deserves the same safety respect for any laser pointer of class 3!)