Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Shaded vectors show - help

Hi everyone,

This is my first post, so first I'll introduce myself. My name is Murilo, I'm a designer and intusiast of DIY stuff, but I'm a newb on electronics, programing and of course, lasers...

I've been browsing for everything related to laser scanning but somethings are still not clear for me.

I wish to build a simple monochrome system with XY galvos, but this system need to project shaded vectors. So, for example, this system would show shaded letters instead of just the outlines, or a shaded circle instead of just the outlines. No faded shades or "dégradée", just simple filled vectors.

So, I thought about two options of doing that. The first would be generating a "toolpath" of the vector on a CAM software and outputing this path to the galvos, showing a full filled vector. In this case, I would use Mach3 or similar software to interpret the Gcode and control the galvos. Has anyone here ever done this before? Is it possible?

The second option would be converting stencil images to full shaded vectors. Is there a software capable of that?

I wish to build a true SLA DIY 3D printer, that's why using a CAM software to generate the path and mach3 to control the galvos would be the best choice for me, because it would be possible to control other axis and functions too.

Please, does anybody know how to do this (or could give me some help)?

Regards,

Murilo

I think what you're calling "shaded vectors" is what we call raster graphics or raster scanning. X/Y galvo systems are not suited for raster scanning in a projector setting. It's certainly possible and will work fine for your application though, since you can live with <2Hz image refresh. Not sure on the software.