Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Scanning laser show system

Zendon

Hi

I stumbled across this site and found it very useful but have a question regarding safety of a laser show system. I have a RGB laser show unit for the purpose of entertaining at home, I have not used it and am likely not going to due to safety concerns.

I am new to lasers but appreciate that they are not toys! especially this unit I have been given as a present.

The device has the following which are fast scanned and not focused single beams;

Laser power: 150mW red, 50mW green, 120mW blue
Laser wavelength: 650nm red, 532nm green, 450nm blue

My questions are..

1. The device emits the 3 different wavelengths of light and mixes them to make most colours, what are my options with regard to safety goggles?

2. The overall output of this device is 320mw. This I understand can easily damage the eye, presuming I set it up correctly (height and angle away from head height as per instruction manual) Will the beams hitting a wall about 10M away still be to bright to use it safely?

3. Are their any materials that you guys recommend which would reduce the intensity somewhat if I was to put a filter of sort over the aperture ?

4. What would you recommend as a beam blocker to reduce the scanning range of the laser?

Thanks for reading my post! I ask because I care about my eyes and that of my friends! probably sound completely overkill...

Things

1. There aren't really any options for safety goggles in this case - but what's the point of a laser show if you can't see it anyway?

2. No. As long as it's going over the top of everyone's head, and there isn't any mirrors on the wall or in it's path that could possibly send stray beams into people, it's fine.