Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

sAik XM-L2-U2

Another idle tinker thought
A sAik with a XM-L2-U2 Cree stuffed into it:eg:

Lets face it, the sAik that we use for a host here sucks for a light, no bones about it. I think it uses a Q4 emitter I don't know about you but to me it looks more like Q2 I'm no expert, but I'm dabbling into flash now so look out.

Anyhow I stuffed a 12mm XM- L2 Cree in it and Hey! Hey!:crackup: that little sucker woke right up. Only produces moderate heat compared to the stock which really got warm when you went into some lengthy duty cycles. The efficiency of that Cree is amazing with a draw of 2.23A at the tailcap the light had to be 3x what it was before. I have no equipment to measure luminas so with the research for numbers prolly a solid 600 lumens is a safe bet on what we are looking at.

One thing for sure is the lens and the reflector is pure crap:na::yabbem:, but I had alot of fun, it passed the time and man gave me my best light... for a very short term:eg:, that's right folks look for some builds comming down the pike from ol' jander:shhh:

So here is some pics, like I said this was nothing I'm bragging about in terms of workmanship it was some kinda quick fun:beer:.

Here is the small heatsink I turned down. I pulled the stock star out and kinda put a step into the sink so the emitter can sit lower into the middle all held in there with Arctic ceramic.
IMAG0182_zps0384dfdd.jpg

I've read over some searches of late (google) and I haven't seen anyone put this emitter into our beloved sAik.
IMAG0179_zps05014419.jpg

Some outside shots, rainy and my streetlight was buggin me out:yabbmad:.
IMAG0188_zps805b5862.jpg

About 30 feet away and 30' up
IMAG0185_zpsafbab3a9.jpg

IMAG0183_zps8bf8ada9.jpg