Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

safety with my cheapo 200MW green laser pointer

I got at focal price. I do not have any safety glasses besides sunglasses, AS LONG as i do not stare into the beam, is this thing safe? I have used it to light matches for videos. I have also "engraved" my wife's name in the vcr remote (black plastic) am I safe as long as i don't point it in my eye? I have viewed the "dot" at fairly close range. i am new to lasers and i am trying to learn how to safely use these.

Last edited:

DJNY

Please read around a bit!

It IS dangerous how you use it without goggles.
I´m sure you heard that not only mirrors are able to reflect light?
Buy some cheap goggles at focalprice for $8, especially for burning experiences.

Please read around a bit!

It IS dangerous how you use it without goggles.
I´m sure you heard that not only mirrors are able to reflect light?
Buy some cheap goggles at focalprice for $8, especially for burning experiences.

thanks very much, so using it outside to point at stuff is safe?? what about pointing at stuff across the room? I have only used it a few times for burning and never for more than a few secs? I hope i haven't hurt my eyes, i have no symptoms. as far as goggles which ones do i need? i have a green laser and the color is 532nm i believe ALSO I have a color 447.5 nm (royal blue) LED flashlight that is VERY bright (5watts) is this thing of any danger as I have directly viewed the LED and the beam?

Last edited:

DJNY

Your best option is to go with this group buy http://laserpointerforums.com/f55/gb-oem-laser-systems-protective-eyewear-51496.html