Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Review: 5 Watt LE LaserBee

Hello, this is my first attempt at a review, so bear with me... thanks!

I'll add photos/videos later, check back later for updates.

I ordered a 5 Watt Laserbee from Ebay on April 27th, 2013, for $585 total. It was shipped on April 30th from Canada and arrived at my mailbox in Illinois, USA on May 3rd, 2013. Very fast shipping, and the packaging was very neat and secure. It was in a plain white box with tape around it, inside was a warning to first read the instructions, and each component of the LPM was individually wrapped in foam or plastic wrap and surrounded by packing peanuts. No damages could be seen from shipping, and the packaging was very good so I doubt any bumps would do anything to the packaging. Jerry was prompt to answer my questions, overall excellent service, 10/10.

The unit itself is rather simple: a power cord, the unit, a cord to connect the OPHIR thermopile to the unit, a CD with user instructions and EagleEye software, and a cord+converter to output the data onto a computer. Very simple to put together, simple to use, and the instructions are also clear. The 0.8 second response time is amazing! :drool: The unit has a manual zeroing function, and the OPHIR thermopile takes only a minute or two to acclimate and stabilize to room temperature. The unit uses a brilliant blue 4.5 digit display, a very nice blue (although 445nm laser goggles make it a tad hard to see, nothing terrible but not too clear). The unit is very lightweight and does NOT have a compartment for a battery, unlike the older models. 10/10 on construction and ease of use.