Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers



[Resolved]Blackbuck 8a v2 issues

dden4012

New member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,002
Points
0
I have gone through 3 of these v2 drivers in a row. Anyone else having issues with the new version? First one I was getting nothing on the output. Second one let out the smoke and the third one no output. These are supposed to be set at around 1.7A default. No issues setting these up when I had the v1. I'm so frustrated with this. $120 and no working driver.
 
Last edited:



paul1598419

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2013
Messages
18,988
Points
113
Re: Blackbuck 8a v2 issues

I haven't used this particular driver yet. Are you certain that you didn't cause problems while setting it up? If you are using a dummy load, you must make sure the connection is never broken while the current is on or the driver will absolutely fail. What I do when setting up drivers is to add two test points in the way of resistor leads to the capacitor across the output. By clip leading to these you can be assured the driver won't fail because of a broken connection.
 

dden4012

New member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,002
Points
0
Re: Blackbuck 8a v2 issues

Pretty darn sure. I use the same approach with all my bb8a builds. No after build failures yet I'm 3/3 lol. I have the 20a test load from SL. I tested a sxd 1.8a right after. And also reset the current on a v1 that I pulled from another build.

Edit: Jordan figured out that the V2 has swapped 5v and GND I have been frying one right after the other using the diagrams on the site. FML. Maybe one of them is still good. Brb.

Edit: No such luck. Even if they were swapped all that would do is reverse the direction the potentiometer would have to turn. Still confused.
 
Last edited:

paul1598419

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2013
Messages
18,988
Points
113
Re: Blackbuck 8a v2 issues

If I understand you correctly, you only lose these during the set up procedure. All the drivers that make it into builds are fine and don't fail. My best guess is to look at the set up for the problem. If I am setting one up for a specific build, I often use the battery(ies) instead of my PS to set it up with. I also make absolutely sure the the load can't open while the driver is powered. If that happens, only for a millisecond you will lose the driver.

Edit: I take it you are using the external pot to adjust the output of your laser with the analog modulation. You can leave all these off while you are setting the driver up. Just have the power source and your test (dummy) load connected and don't concern yourself with the other options at this point.
 
Last edited:

badboybilly

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 5, 2015
Messages
1,336
Points
113
Re: Blackbuck 8a v2 issues

best thing to do is contact him he should solve the issue, By him I mean Vladimir! If I remember correctly i appparently killed one by accidentall short circuit of 5v pin to ground pin
Or incorrect pot wireing, Therefore the 5v. LDO chip is damaged!

Apparently there is no reason for an LDO chip to die by itself!
 
Last edited:

dden4012

New member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,002
Points
0
Re: Blackbuck 8a v2 issues

Trying the same thing expecting different results. I can see how this is my fault. A warning or updated manual might save someone else this embarrassment and cost.
 

badboybilly

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 5, 2015
Messages
1,336
Points
113
Re: Blackbuck 8a v2 issues

Trying the same thing expecting different results. I can see how this is my fault. A warning or updated manual might save someone else this embarrassment and cost.

Exactly my thought, you would think he would make it clear to everyone but in his eyes everyone should know this!
 

superduck

New member
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
6
Points
1
Re: Blackbuck 8a v2 issues

Hi guys. DTR contacted me a couple of hours ago. Most likely it's my fault, I did not take care of properly updating the manual for V2. If you had smoke, it's likely that 5V reference chip is dead. To find it out - check the voltage between the ref and gnd pins.
Now we need to find a solution to repair or replace your drivers.. $120 is not a joke :yh:
 

dden4012

New member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,002
Points
0
Re: Blackbuck 8a v2 issues

Hi guys. DTR contacted me a couple of hours ago. Most likely it's my fault, I did not take care of properly updating the manual for V2. If you had smoke, it's likely that 5V reference chip is dead. To find it out - check the voltage between the ref and gnd pins.
Now we need to find a solution to repair or replace your drivers.. $120 is not a joke :yh:

The swapping of those two spots would have only had an affect on the potentiometer. What led me down that rabbit hole was something else. The smoked one was indeed from jumping the pads trying to isolate the problem. I'll get it worked out with Jordan. I've been called alot of things but I have never been accused of being an electrical engineer.

Anyways really curious who are you? Batman? Jk but really want to know how your involved. Your posts are very technical and specific to the Blackbuck driver.
 

superduck

New member
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
6
Points
1
Re: Blackbuck 8a v2 issues

You are right about the pot, but anything could happen. All drivers was tested and preconfigured to 1.6A by me personally, this excludes the fact that you could get 3 DOA drivers. Something is wrong with the connections or soldering. The only way to kill this driver is DC reverse polarity or "ref" output shorted to GND/DC+/Anode pins.

HTML:
Anyways really curious who are you? Batman?
How did you guess? :D I had to introduce myself - I am the author of these drivers
 

dden4012

New member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,002
Points
0
Re: Blackbuck 8a v2 issues

I had a hunch but I've done enough assuming this month. I'll hardwire everything on the next pass. I've had zero issues with using JST connectors up till now. They are like diode sockets and there hasn't been a problem with them yet. But for the sake of sanity, I will eliminate that possibility on the next go.
Bad stuff happens in threes so I should be coming up on a smooth break here.
 

superduck

New member
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
6
Points
1
Re: Blackbuck 8a v2 issues

Anyway so that you know - if the copper layers on the pcb are not damaged, this driver can be repaired.
 

DTR

Well-known member
LPF Site Supporter
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
5,711
Points
113
Re: Blackbuck 8a v2 issues

Just saw this thread. I think he already has these on the way back to me. When we talked last week I said to send them over and I would refund him for now and check them out. Send them to V/lad if I can't see anything on them.

On the site there was not an update when the V2's hit which may have just been a miscommunication and I did not notice as I have always just looked at the board which is labelled correctly when setting them up. Only noticed it when doing some troubleshooting on these three with him. It will be updated with a new image of the board today with the correct order of the ground, modulation and 5V reference pads. Hopefully we can figure it out. It is strange as at least 60 boards from this specific batch have gone out and this is the first I have heard of any issues like this so hopefully it is just something simple and we can get him back up and running.:beer:

EDIT

Just set one up out of the same batch as these. No problem 4.5A. Talking with Vlad I think it must just be as simple as the load not dropping enough votlage at the preset 1.6A to get the drivers output to come on as it will turn off if open circuit or not enough load.

uYbAF3.jpg
 
Last edited:

dden4012

New member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,002
Points
0
Re: Blackbuck 8a v2 issues

Hey Jordan I'll have these out to you this week. I'll update the thread with the results of the test load on the power supply. I hope my errors can help the next guy avoid this. Great support from you guys I just wish I asked for help earlier on.
 

BobMc

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
3,841
Points
113
Re: Blackbuck 8a v2 issues

Sorry to hear about your misfortune dden. Three driver down, that's got to sting a little. Oooch! Hope their repairable and things get worked out. Best wishes. :)
 

einstein5453

New member
Joined
Sep 20, 2017
Messages
2
Points
0
I just received a unit with a blackbuck driver already installed that lasted about 5msec prior to smoking. very frustating!
 




Top