Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

red diode expectations

So i bought the long can 650nm diode from Hightech and it doesnt seem to put out as described. I dont think that i am expecting too much from it.

I set my driver at 397ma and have used both the glass and acrylic lense for the axiz housing and i was able to get it to warm up and smoke but not burn through tape. It wont light a match or pop a balloon. I noticed that the beam is barely visible in a dark room. It will throw a nice bright dot on a wall but dont know if the intensity is correct as i am new to this. The intensity is nothing compared to my 10mw greenie which basicaly lights up the room.

Thanks, Skylight

I also have the same diode form hightech set at 380 mA which should put it around 200 mW or so i can easily burn tape light white, red or black matches and pop balloons with ease. When i shine it on a white wall i can barely look at it. So yours should at least light matches and stuff. Also i personally think all green laser's look bright as hell.

A 15mW green laser looks brighter to the human eye than what a 250mW red does.
I also have the same diode, and it burns things with ease. I have mine set at 390mA. It is very likely that you just aren't focusing it properly. Buy some laser safety glasses. That will help you when it comes to focusing the laser. ;)

No one will be able to tell for sure just by description. However, the beam should be clearly visible in a dark room. Your eye is far less sensitive for the red than for the green beam, but even if the 10mW green is considerably over spec, the brightness should be more or less comparable.