Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Recommendation for a noob?

I'm a noob when it comes to lasers, and I'm looking for a good laser (that will pop balloons, light matches, burn paper, etc.) that is under $50. I've looked around and I just don't really know enough about lasers or the laser community to know what to look for in the specs or which sites won't scam me.
Anyway, I'm only looking to spend around $50. So a (few) recommendation(s) would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance! :)

If your gonna order a laser just for burning, make sure you get a pair of laser safety goggles your gonna need them, I can only stair at the dot on the wall for a short time without it fucking with my eyes. remember dont buy cheap get a good quality pair. i have heard nothing but good with dragon laser goggles. or oem goggles

Got it! Safety goggles :)
And since you recommended a red laser, it makes me curious as to the advantages of different colors (since I thought green was better than red). So can you explain what makes each color better than another? Also, what are the differences between the gas lasers and infrared lasers compared to each other and the regular lasers?

I started looking at the site where you recommended the laser and I found this: http://www.o-like.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=5
Is it just a waterproof version of what you recommended? Because I'd pay $10 more for it to be waterproof...

Last edited:

Kevlar

For burning, the 405nm (blu-ray) will give you more burning power per mW than 532nm or 660nm. I'm just not sure you can get one for under $50.

Even if you decide to go with red (660nm), try to get one that can focus, it also makes a difference.

Last edited:

ARG