Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

rayfoss burning laser ?

Hey guys,

I am new to this site but not to the laser world ! ( actually I only have a 10mW green pointer) and I am a physicist so I know a little bit about lab laser !

here s my question: I want to buy my first burning laser at a reasonable price. from what I read on the site rayfoss seems to be very good for the quality/price, So i would go with them unless someone propose me something else.
what output power should I choose to be able to light matches and burn black plastic bad ? is 100mW enough ? because I would like it small (pointer size if possible)

Also are red pointer better at burning than green ?

thanks for you info

Hello and welcome.

For the best price to power ratio a 200mw red would be the best option.

Just remember eye safety, a pair of protective goggles is highly recommended.

mat.jpg

I have compiled a list of "must read" information, it will make your time with us more productive and pleasant.

Laser Resources (for n00bs and veterans alike!)

http://laserpointerforums.com/f36/looking-build-laser-read-me-47684.html

Sam's Laser FAQ (The Laser Bible)

http://www.repairfaq.org/sam/laserfaq.htm

RP Photonics Encyclopedia of Laser Physics and Technology

http://www.rp-photonics.com/encyclopedia.html

Welcome to the forums!

Well all the lasers are the same according to the MW but colors just make the beam brighter. For example if u compare a 200mw red and a 200mw green i believe (correct me if im wrong)that the green 1 will be brighter but they have the exact same burning ability/power

ok, thanks
So I finally made my choice, after seeing a review, I ordered a 150mw blu-ray pointer from o-like
405nm 150mW blu-ray pen /adjustable [OLBVL150] - $95.99 : O-Like, Quality Products, Great Prices