Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Questions for a newbie!

Hey everyone,
I have some questions to make about lasers. I am new to lasers so these might sound ridiculous questions.
So first of:
-What is nm and how does it effect the laser
-Are red lasers better for burning stuff?
-Are there diodes for example 50mw that can burn, and some that cant burn?
-Thanks,
Alex

Gun

These are simple questions that you could have researched but here it goes.

Nm is nanometres, it affects the colour of the laser.

I think a general rule is the lower the nm, the better the burner. I think.

Yes depending on focus and wavelength.

Last edited:
Hey everyone,
I have some questions to make about lasers. I am new to lasers so these might sound ridiculous questions.
So first off
-What is nm and how does it effect the laser
-Are red lasers better for burning stuff?
-Are there diodes for example 50mw that can burn, and some that cant burn?
-Thanks,
Alex

your Qs are not 'ridiculous questions' but the answers are just too easy to find on your own- try our search-google-& Sam's Laser FAQ etc.

AND if all your are interested in is burning 'stuff' get some matches or a bic lighter faster and way cheaper too.

most mature laser fans still do like a good burning demo but we kinda look upon this aspect as more for the beginners-- hopefully you will get past that w/o hurting any critters- other people, yourself or our 'hobby'.

a much better intro of yourself could and would have been a much better way to begin here-