Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Purchasing Lasers or laser kits

am new on this site. While I have a general knowledge about lasers, electronics, and science in general, I have no experience in either building or purchasing lasers.

I am interested in purchasing ready made lasers and potentially building them from kits.

I have seen a lot of lasers for sale on Alibaba and had been thinking of getting a couple but have no idea about their quality. I have seen 5 watt? blue lasers selling from around $900 to $60 which on the surface look like the same product...but I certainly do not know.

Can someone advise me about the best place to purchase either kits or completed lasers. One problem I have is living in the US, in fact, not too far from those folks who call themselves the FDA. As a physician, I have already had my share of encounters with them!

gozert

First off, welcome!

I suggest you to build your own lasers because it's much more fun and exciting. There are companies that ship to the US and guarantee delivery however. Alibaba can be a great site to get parts or lasers, but you really have to know what you're doing before buying there.

What I would recommend it getting a laser module with driver from DTR (link) and parts from Budget Beams LLC or Survival Laser USA Home.

Of course there are some great host builders here too that can make a custom host that fits your needs.

That are just a few of all the available sources to get parts from. Aside of all this, I would recommend you to get a pair of safety goggles from Survival lasers.