Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Power levels for a specific diode

Hi Everyone, First time poster here,

I am gathering parts for a 3W build using a flashlight host and a diode/driver/lens setup from DTR's laser shop.

445nm 9mm Diode In Copper Module W/2.4A X-Drive & Three Element Glass

It is listed at 3W, just curious, what in the diode determines how much power it can handle?

can a 3w diode be pushed to 4 or 5w with a higher amperage driver?

Sorry for the newb questions, this is my first build.

Also, Thank you to Jordan at DTR's for all of the help previous to this. He has been awesome.

Hi Everyone, First time poster here,

I am gathering parts for a 3W build using a flashlight host and a diode/driver/lens setup from DTR's laser shop.

445nm 9mm Diode In Copper Module W/2.4A X-Drive & Three Element Glass

It is listed at 3W, just curious, what in the diode determines how much power it can handle?

can a 3w diode be pushed to 4 or 5w with a higher amperage driver?

Sorry for the newb questions, this is my first build.

Also, Thank you to Jordan at DTR's for all of the help previous to this. He has been awesome.

Hello, welcome jaykhjr, what determines how much power it can handle are the specs from the manufacturer or testing done by members here.

No you can't push it much with higher amperage, it will kill the diode.

You won't get 3W with the 3 element lens, get the G2 lens if you want maximum power.

For one example of a 3W build have a look what I did here: http://laserpointerforums.com/f65/assembled-445nm-9mm-stainless-steel-host-pic-heavy-85997.html
There are many other build threads where people showed what they did that are interesting and educational.

Alan

HI Alan, Thanks for the reply